Jump to content

Welcome to WatercoolingUK Community Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

How To: Daisy Chain Fans

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
83 replies to this topic

#41
Brooksie

Brooksie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts

it would probably be two of these:
http://www.watercool...roducts_id=1170

Will they be ok then?

#42
7755matt

7755matt

    Level 10

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
They should be fine, although I cant find a power rating for those fans anywhere, not even on the manufacturers site.

#43
russb123

russb123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts
How do you get the bare wires back into the 3 pin molex?

#44
Brooksie

Brooksie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
Yeah bend the little loop and push it back in.

#45
clone

clone

    Level 9

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 842 posts
You need a very small screw driver to take them out and a sharp knife to sometimes pry the little bit back up that can bend when taking out.

#46
freshage

freshage

    Level 10

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,934 posts
is it sad i only just learnt how to do this?

chris
Posted Image

#47
Brooksie

Brooksie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
Nope :) As I only just learnt to do it aswell ;)

#48
Rincewind

Rincewind

    Level 7

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 565 posts
simply! :-P but they can be altered RPM by a fan controller? and they go at same speed when changed?
Now you will get ready for the zim zam and the babbidy bibbidy. and you will take off your clothes like zooofff zoom, and geat ready for the most magnificent pudding pop you have ever seen" - Bill Cosby

#49
Bigdavegrrr

Bigdavegrrr

    IS BACK! MWHAHAHAHA!!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,731 posts
Yes because fan controllers change the voltage going to the fans to change speed. The RPM wire is purely for monitoring.

Im guessing you are a Terry Pratchett fan by your name? <dance1>

Edited by Bigdavegrrr, 31 January 2009 - 10:28 AM.


#50
BattleMetalChris

BattleMetalChris

    Level 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
Can you do this with 4-pin fans as well or does the PWM signal-thing complicate things?

I've got three 4-pin Xilence Red-Wings for my rad and want to daisy-chain then and link them up to the 4-pin output on my Zalman fan controller. I've checked the specs on the controller and it'll deliver enough power for all three fans off the one channel.

#51
7755matt

7755matt

    Level 10

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
Not sure if it will do that, but you could always chop the molex off and splice the wires into i 3 pin header

#52
BattleMetalChris

BattleMetalChris

    Level 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
There's no molexes involved. The fans have 4-pin fan header connections.

#53
BattleMetalChris

BattleMetalChris

    Level 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
Aha.. interesting..

Having a play and testing out my fan controller using my old PC.

Although each Xilence fan has 4 wires (black, red, blue, green), and has a 4-pin plug, they won't actually plug into a 4-pin header - the tab on the back is the wrong shape. It is however the same shape as the tab on a 3-pin header and indeed works perfectly if plugged into a 3-pin header.

So I should be able to daisy-chain these like a normal 3-pin fan?

Edited by BattleMetalChris, 31 January 2009 - 12:46 PM.


#54
7755matt

7755matt

    Level 10

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
cant see why not tbh.although i'm not overly sure on using all 4 wires.

#55
BattleMetalChris

BattleMetalChris

    Level 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
I think I might hotwire the new PSU, plug in the fan controller and just have a play seeing which wires it needs to make them run properly.

Edited by BattleMetalChris, 31 January 2009 - 02:54 PM.


#56
BattleMetalChris

BattleMetalChris

    Level 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
yeah that worked.

As far as I can tell, the green wire doesn't do anything, and the blue wire is the signal. With the red and black wires from a fan spliced into the same wires on a second fan, the speed controller can work both of them perfectly.

Braiding next :)

#57
Nunzio

Nunzio

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts
Simple question, sorry if its a repeat. Can you daisy chain PWM 4pin fans? As i want to add a second fan to my cpu cooler.

#58
Bandyquill

Bandyquill

    Level 9

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
yes, but dont attatch the yellow RPM one as itll throw a dodgy reading


DISCLAMER (do this at your own risk though, they may not work afterwards!!!)

"Put the parts back in the box and return to dealer. You're too dumb to mod"


Posted Image


#59
tef

tef

    Level 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
hi. decided im gonna try this out, seems fairly straight forward, the wiring anyway:) one thing though i have a few cables that you can plug like four 3 pin fan headers into then connect it to 4pin molex via psu cable. would it be ok to daisy chain 3 fans (xilence) and fit it into the splitter, then into psu??? the splitter cable is similar to this but with more 3 pin headers on http://www.maplin.co...s/150/a88aq.jpg

thanks.

#60
andybones12

andybones12

    Level 10

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,147 posts
Has anybody daisy chained a quad radiator yet and what would be the layout.would you do 2x2 or connect all 4 together.
Posted Image
my fan controller can handle 60w on each channel.surely this would be enough.::|


Andy




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users