Welcome to WatercoolingUK Community Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

E5200 Overclocking

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

Fletch_r21

Fletch_r21

• Members
  • 22 posts
Hi all.

I know this is not a Watercooled related question, but Id prefer to ask here as everyone seems more friendlier and able to help than other sites!

I have an E5200 (2.4GHz Standard) with a ASRock G31M-S Motherboard. I am very new to the idea of overclocking. I have used the ASRock OC Utility, and for the overclocking side of the utility it only has the option to change the CPU frequency and the CPU Ratio:

I have left the Ratio at 12.5

and the frequency is now at 260

It is now running at 3.25GHz Aircooled and staying around 32 Degrees Idle.

Does it matter that I have only changed the Frequency and nothing else? As I've always seen guides which are more in depth and require more changes. . I have been stress testing this and it has been fine and staying around the same temp.

Thanks

Rich

digitaldunc

digitaldunc

Level 3

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
First of all I'll say I'm unaware of the capabilities and quirks of that particular processor...

If you've managed to get that far by changing BCLK alone then that's great... altering voltages isn't necessarily required, especially at more conservative overclocks. You will find you'll need to tweak more further up the line to maintain stability.

It's load temperatures more than idle you need to pay attention to, though.

I presume you're stressing with Prime95?