Welcome to WatercoolingUK Community Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

Network security probs

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

fido

fido

Level 9

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
Hi.

Got my htpc all finished today, installed vista (for now!!) but im having some probs regarding my network security. Im a total noob a t networks so bear with me:p

Heres how i have it all set up atm. Virgin router ethernet is plugged into my netgear wireless g and my main pc and htpc plugged into the wireless g.

Heres the problem though. As my Sky will be going off this weekend i thought it best to get the gf's laptop connected to the virgin wireless. So when i checked through available networks the virgin showed up, thing is its unsecure:o. I tried the routerlogin thing and messsed around there, but it still shows up unsecure. As i said im a complete noob at this so any one who can help me gets +100,000,000 rep points:D

Cheers!

dazza

dazza

Oh Hai!

• Members
  • 2,083 posts
You have to enable wep and make a authentication key and then use that as a passkey

fido

fido

Level 9

• Members
  • 1,077 posts
Ok, so how do i enable wep lol?

In the routerlogin page?

No matters found thanks dazza ;)

Rep left ;)

fido

fido

Level 9

• Members
  • 1,077 posts
Do i need to reboot router as its still showing up unsecure :/?

skyripper

skyripper

Level 6

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts